As I start this new blog I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how much I take the things that I have for granted.  I feel like for the most part I am thankful for what I have, and am pretty aware of the poor quality of life that many others live in daily.  I make an effort quite often to talk to our girls about being thankful for what they have, even though they come from homes where they haven’t had much, I try to explain to them that compared to many others in the world they are blessed.  This past Sunday we woke up to find out that we had no hot water in our home.  I must confess that the girls weren’t the only ones complaining.  Even though we had perfectly good water, we were all really frustrated that it wasn’t the right temperature.  On Monday our water heater was repaired but since they had to shut the water off for a while to fix it, when they turned it back on our water was a little dirty.  Again, you would have thought we were going through a major crisis, even though there was a water cooler for drinking water in the next room!  I’m not sure that I can quite get words around what I want to say, but let me try.  I am in no way saying that we should do without warm or clean water.  We should use the blessings we have been given.  But we need to be very aware and thankful for what we have that many don’t.  The fact that we were so bothered by the very small inconvenience of our water being the wrong temperature concerns me.  Something seems completely out of wack when half of the world is struggling to survive because they can’t get clean drinking water and we use it to spray on our grass. 

                                            

Unsafe water kills over 5,700 children a day.  You can help by giving a gift through World Vision.

