Today is Blog Action Day, an annual nonprofit event that aims to trigger a global discussion.  Each year a specific subject is determined and bloggers across the world tackle that particular subject.  This year just happens to be poverty and today is the day, pretty fitting huh? 

Poverty is a huge subject to try to wrap your mind around and I will be the first to admit that I can’t completely grasp it.  I can’t explain why one child is born into wealth and luxury while on the other side of the world another is born into conditions where every day is a struggle for life.  Rather than longing for the newest video game or tickets to see their favorite team play, this child hopes to get a spoonful of rice after his siblings get their share and maybe even a drink of dirty water.  What is fair about that?  How does God allow that?  How do we begin to understand that?  What do we do about that? 

I don’t have answers to all of those questions, but I am not willing to sit back and wait until all of the answers are given to me.  Here are some of the things that I will do to address poverty in the world today and I ask for you to join me

1. Read and study what the Bible has to say about poverty.

2. Pray for God’s will to be done “on Earth as it is in Heaven”.

3. Sponsor a child.

4. Give a gift to those in need.

5. Raise awareness.

All of these are fairly general ideas and you can find more specifically what I’m referring to by clicking on the links. 

What else can we be doing to address the issue of poverty?

